La Clemenza di Tito

La Clemenza di Tito

Vitellia – Becoming First Lady

Opera in 2 Acts, 1791

Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Libretto by Caterino Mazzolà, after Metastasio

Opéra de Rouen Normandie –  December 2022

« I am the most guilty of all! It is I who hatched the plot; I seduced your faithfullest friend; I took advantage of his blind love for me. » - La Clemenza di Tito, Act 2

CAST

Conductor, Ben Glassberg

Conceptors, Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Delœuil

Lighting designer, scenographic collaborator, Christophe Pitoiset

Artistic collaborator, Lodie Kardouss

Video, Jean-Baptiste Beïs

Graphic designer, Julien Roques

Dramaturge, Luc Bourrousse

PRODUCTION

Opéra de Rouen Normandie - New production.

ABOUT

Claude Pompidou, Jackie Kennedy, Hillary Clinton, Michelle Obama —but also Eva Peron and Imelda Marcos, or Valérie Trierweiler, or Melania Trump... What lies behind First Ladies conventional images? What hides behind their glossy smiles and their formal elegance?

At the very moment when the Emperor Titus, forgiving all those who plotted against him, is finally about to marry her, the ambitious Vitellia recalls the previous events. Alone in a presidential lounge, just at the doors of Power, Vitellia remembers all she had to go through, all she had to achieve and lose to reach this moment when she becomes an Empress at last, while renouncing a part of herself.

Power and seduction games, amourous ties and political negotiations intertwine, in a series of successive flashbacks. Behind the ceremonial figurehead, a determined and manipulative fighter is revealed, who is also a wounded lover and a complex, profoundly endearing woman. Thus Mozart, a convinced proto-feminist, reminds us that behind any powerful man one should always chercher la femme.

Contact: production@clarac-deloeuil.fr

La Clemenza di Tito

La Clemenza di Tito

Vitellia - Devenir Première Dame

Opéra en 2 Actes, 1791

Musique Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Livret Caterino Mazzolà

Opéra de Rouen Normandie - 12,13,15 Novembre 2020

« Je suis la plus coupable de tous! C’est moi qui ai fomenté le complot. J’ai séduit ton ami le plus fidèle. J’ai abusé de son aveugle amour à tes dépens. » - La Clemenza di Tito, Acte 2

DISTRIBUTION

Direction musicale, Ben Glassberg

Conception, Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Deloeuil

Lumières et collaboration à la scénographie, Christophe Pitoiset

Collaboration artistique, Lodie Kardouss

Création Vidéo, Jean-Baptiste Beïs

Création graphique, Julien Roques

Dramaturgie, Luc Bourrousse

Avec : Nicky Spence (Tito), Simona Saturova (Vitellia), Anna Stéphany (Sesto), Chiara Skerath (Servillia), Kayleigh Decker (Annio), David Steffens (Publio)

PRODUCTION

Opéra de Rouen Normandie, Orchestre de chambre de Paris, Philharmonie de Paris - Nouvelle production.

 

A PROPOS

Claude Pompidou, Jackie Kennedy, Hillary Clinton, Michelle Obama, mais aussi Eva Peron et Imelda Marcos, ou encore Valérie Trierweiler et Melania Trump... Qu’y a-t-il derrière l’image convenue des Premières Dames? Que cachent leurs sourires de papier glacé et leurs élégances protocolaires?

Au moment où l’Empereur Titus, pardonnant à tous ceux qui avaient comploté contre lui, va enfin l’épouser, l’ambitieuse Vitellia se remémore les événements passés. Restée seule dans un salon présidentiel, juste à la porte du Pouvoir, Vitellia se souvient de tout ce qu’il lui a fallu traverser, accomplir et perdre, pour arriver à ce moment qui la voit enfin devenir Impératrice, tout en abandonnant une partie d’elle-même.

Jeux de pouvoir et de séduction, liens amoureux et négociations politiques s’entremêlent, dans une succession de flashbacks. Derrière la potiche de cérémonie apparaît alors une combattante ambitieuse et manipulatrice, mais aussi une amoureuse blessée et une femme complexe, terriblement attachante. Et Mozart, proto-féministe convaincu, nous rappelle ainsi que, derrière tout homme de pouvoir, il faut toujours chercher la femme.

Contact: production@clarac-deloeuil.fr