Death In Venice

Death in Venice

An opera in 2 Acts, 1973

Music by Benjamin Britten – Libretto by Myfanwy Piper, after Thomas Mann

Opéra National du Rhin – February 12 > March 2,  2021

« Ah, little Tadziù, we do not laugh like the others. Does your innocence keep you aloof, or do you look to me for guidance? » - Death in Venice, Act 2

CAST

Conductor, Jacques Lacombe

Staging, sets, costumes, Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Delœuil

Lighting designer, scenographic collaborator, Christophe Pitoiset

Artistic collaborator, Lodie Kardouss

Graphic Design, Julien Roques

Video, Pascal Bourdet

Editing, Tim Buisson

Dramaturge, Luc Bourrousse

With Tobie Spence (Gustav von Aschenbach), Scott Hendricks (the Traveller, the Elderly Fop, the Old Gondolier, the Hotel Manager, the Hotel Barber, the Leader of the Players, the Voice of Dionysus), Jake Arditti (the Voice of Apollo), Peter Kirk (the Porter), Laurent Deleuil (English clerk in the travel bureau).

PRODUCTION

Opéra National du Rhin - New production.

ABOUT

Nowadays, in a city that might be Strasbourg. A recluse in a strange assisted living accommodation, a writer undergoes an inspiration crisis while attempting to add a few lines to his latest piece, an experimental autobiography mingled with literary impressions about Venice. Recurrently visited by odd and more or less fantasised figures, the artist in crisis is above all constantly manipulated by his cynical publisher, ready to do anything to  secure the nearly completed manuscript.

But the mature writer also has to face visions of his own mother, and of himself as a preadolescent. Fantasising about imaginary Venice(s), the author is soon caught in a no-exit narcissistic delirium preventing him to notice that all around him, in the city, an epidemic rages, causing turmoil among the inhabitants.

Having finally recaptured the child he was, and his ideal Venice, the writer, who failed to put a final full stop to his manuscript, decides to let himself die. He believes himself alone and forsaken by all, but will not die in vain: in a final epiphany, having perhaps overcome the epidemic, all the citizens of the town accompany him in a triumphal procession towards death, thus asserting how necessary literature is and, more broadly, how imperative is the presence of arts and artists in our cities —today more than ever.

Contact: production@clarac-deloeuil.fr

Death in Venice

Death in Venice

Opéra en 2 Actes, 1973

Musique Benjamin Britten – Livret Myfanwy Piper, d’après Thomas Mann

Opéra National du Rhin -  Du 12 Février au 2 Mars 2021

« Ah, petit Tadzio, nous ne rions pas comme les autres. Ton innocence te garde-t-elle à distance, ou comptes-tu sur moi pour te guider? » - Death in Venice, Acte 2

DISTRIBUTION

Direction musicale, Jacques Lacombe

Mise en scène, Scénographie, Costumes, Jean-Philippe Clarac & Olivier Deloeuil

Lumières et collaboration à la scénographie, Christophe Pitoiset

Collaboration artistique, Lodie Kardouss

Création Vidéo et graphique, Julien Roques et Benjamin Juhel

Montage, Tim Buisson

Dramaturgie, Luc Bourrousse

Avec : Tobie Spence (Gustav von Aschenbach), Scott Hendricks (Le Voyageur, le vieux Dandy, le vieux Gondolier, le Directeur de l’hôtel, le Barbier de l’hôtel, le Chef des baladins, la Voix de Dionysos), Jake Arditti (La Voix d’Apollon), Peter Kirk (Le Portier), Laurent Deleuil (L’Agent de voyage Anglais).

PRODUCTION

Opéra National du Rhin - Nouvelle production

A PROPOS

De nos jours, dans une ville qui pourrait être Strasbourg. Reclus dans une étrange maison médicalisée, un écrivain en crise d’inspiration tente de rajouter quelques lignes à son dernier texte, une autobiographie expérimentale, mêlée d’impressions littéraires sur Venise. Régulièrement visité par d’étranges figures plus ou moins fantasmées, l’artiste en crise est surtout constamment manipulé par son cynique éditeur, prêt à tout pour obtenir le manuscrit en cours d’achèvement.

Mais l’écrivain mature est aussi confronté à des visions de sa propre mère, et de lui-même, dans sa pré-adolescence. Fantasmant sur des Venise(s) imaginaires, l’auteur s’enferme ainsi dans un délire narcissique et sans issue, qui l’empêche de voir que, dans la ville tout autour de lui, une cruelle épidémie fait rage, semant le trouble chez les habitants.

Ayant finalement retrouvé l’enfant qu’il était, et sa Venise idéale, l’écrivain, qui n’est pas parvenu à mettre un point final à son dernier texte, choisit alors de se laisser mourir. L’artiste se croit seul et abandonné de tous, mais il ne sera pas mort pour rien : Dans une Epiphanie finale, ayant peut-être triomphé de l’épidémie, tous les habitants de la ville environnante accompagnent triomphalement l’écrivain vers la mort, réaffirmant ainsi, aujourd’hui plus que jamais, la nécessité de la littérature et, plus largement, l’impérative présence de l’art et des artistes dans nos cités.

Contact: production@clarac-deloeuil.fr